Tutors

This forum has been created to provide a non-challenging environment for teachers and parents new to using synthetic phonics.

LGP

Tutors

Post by LGP » Wed Feb 20, 2013 1:57 pm

Hi. I am a parent of a 9 year old boy struggling to read and write and I'm new to RRF forum.

I have spent a very interesting time researching online many websites regarding literacy, synthetic phonics, resources etc. It is great that there are so many committed individuals and organisations out there looking to address the scandalous issue of illiteracy.

But how do I find a tutor???! I have emailed, I have googled but there doesn't appear to be a 'list' or even a mention of like-minded, qualified professionals who can provide private tuition.

We will of course try to involve our school and of course back up any tuition with work at home and additional resources if needed, but I think we also really need is expert help, given my son's age and attitude!

Can anyone out there help point us in the right direction to find it, or offer your services?

Thank you.

Susan Godsland
Administrator

Re: Tutors

Post by Susan Godsland » Thu Feb 21, 2013 10:49 am

Can anyone offer LGP advice?

LGP

Post by LGP » Thu Feb 21, 2013 1:14 pm

We live in SW16 London and can travel anywhere in south and central London by train/bus/bike. Car passed away :cry:

Susan Godsland
Administrator

Post by Susan Godsland » Thu Feb 21, 2013 1:28 pm

Are you within reach of the Bloomfield Learning Centre?
All the tutors there are Sounds-Write trained

http://www.blearning.biz/about

Debbie Hepplewhite
Administrator

Post by Debbie Hepplewhite » Thu Feb 21, 2013 4:52 pm

Would you consider doing the tutoring yourself? It would save you a fortune and you could do a better job than a tutor as you can do it daily, readily.