Thank you

Moderators: Debbie Hepplewhite, maizie, Lesley Drake, Susan Godsland

StuartLock

Thank you

Post by StuartLock » Mon Feb 01, 2016 10:11 pm

I'm no reading expert, but I've immersed myself in the evidence over the last few years. As a result, we've taught our daughter to read at home and challenged her school.
We've recently moved. She started a new school. They didn't assess her reading for a while, but when they finally did, they offered "Reading Recovery" as she was sounding out well but "not comprehending".
Shocked that she must be behind, but also more shocked that they were using RR to catch up, we asked for a meeting. I deliberately didn't get involved as I work at a nearby secondary.
However, my partner did a lot of research, directed to this forum and others by some of your moderators. As a result, today, she sent me this email (edited to remove names):

"So just got back from the school and thought I would write down what I can remember. I have definitely upset the reading recovery teacher!

The Headteacher apologised for how long it took to get A assessed, which was unacceptable in her eyes. Especially as she had chased this information from the class teacher. A had been put at blue level which she queried and that's why she sent the reading recovery teacher in to do another assessment. She was then at Gold level. This is nothing like blue level. The HT went on to explain that they didn't want to put A in reading recovery but to put her in reading discovery which was for children who knew their phonics but weren't getting the comprehension side or using other tools and were unable to piece together words they didn't know. I raised how this goes against the national curriculum and I don't agree with it and then she called in the reading recovery teacher.