4 year old with language and auditory processing delays

Moderators: Debbie Hepplewhite, maizie, Lesley Drake, Susan Godsland

Janis

4 year old with language and auditory processing delays

Post by Janis » Fri Dec 12, 2003 2:08 am

I am a special education teacher in the US who normally does remedial reading work. I have been using **. However, the parents of a 4 year old called me last night to ask for guidance regarding their child who is very bright but has some auditory processing and language delays. I expressed that they would definitely need to seek private reading instruction as out public schools here (US) do not know how to properly teach a child like this.

In the event I am asked to tutor this child, I am deliberating about which synthetic phonics program to use. I need one which is very multi-sensory and will provide adequate practice work. I would only be working with the child about 2 hours a week, so I need a program that is adaptable to that amount of time. I have heard Jolly Phonics is very good but didn't know if it would be appropriate for my situation. I certainly think the materials look interesting and appealing.

This child will be 5 next September. Should I wait until then to start or begin sooner?

Thanks!
Janis
(I also posted this on the JP board, but it looks as though that board does not get many responses)

john walker

Post by john walker » Fri Dec 12, 2003 3:36 pm

Dear Janis,
I don't know what the nature of this child's auditory processing problems and language delay is but if the child isn't even five until next September, why on earth would anyone be wanting her to learn to read yet?